PSNS & IMF Names 2007 Employees of the Year

And the winner is … in Academy Awards fashion, 152 nominees from Puget Sound Naval Shipyard and Intermediate Maintenance Facility (PSNS & IMF) were recognized in front of families, friends and co-workers during a recent ceremony at the Kitsap Conference Center in downtown Bremerton. The event was standing room only with anxious audience members awaiting the final winning announcements.

During the ceremony, the PSNS & IMF Incentive Awards Committee recognized individuals in 13 categories for Employee of the Year, four sailors of the Year and two employees for the Commander’s Excellence in Safety Award.

“These nominations describe your leadership, your professionalism and your integrity,” shared Commander Bruce Deshotel, executive officer, Naval Intermediate Maintenance Facility PACNORWEST. “In spite of all the challenges, you quietly model the Navy’s vision of a highly skilled, powerfully motivated work force for mission success.”

Capt. Daniel Peters, commander PSNS & IMF, addressed the audience expressing his gratitude for the nominees and especially for the families who support them at home. He shared how this support allows for these great individuals to come to work and be the best they can be. Peters thanked the nominees for all they have done, stating “The teamwork, drive and determination you have displayed during this demanding time for our nation has made this tour for me an absolute great one.”

The ceremony’s guest speaker, Deputy Chief of Staff for Fleet Maintenance, U.S. Pacific Fleet, William Ryzewic, spoke about the important roles of the work force. “You’re down in the tanks, you’re in offices and you think you aren’t making a difference; you sure as heck are, every day. You folks are unbelievable,” explained Ryzewic. “You are highly skilled artisans, you’re brilliant engineers and you are dedicated professionals. You represent the best of the best — the best Shipyard in the United States.”

In addition to this event, the Seattle Federal Executive Board will recognize the civilian employees selected during their “Celebration of Public Service” in Seattle May 7.

Following are the individuals recognized for their achievements:

• Senior Sailor of the Year for 2007:

ET1(SS) Anthony Augustus (Bangor)

MM1(SW) David Evanger (Everett)

• Junior Sailor of the Year for 2007:EM2(SW/AW) Jose Ramirez (Bangor)

HT2(SW) Jason Martinez (Everett)

• Commander’s Excellence in Safety Awards: Employee Category: John Stieber; Manager Category: Kevin Waterbury

• 2007 Employees of the Year

Administrative, Clerical, and Support Services: Penny Nielsen

• Administrative Managerial/Supervisory (Non-Engineering, Non Trade) (White Collar): Tracy Storey

• Engineering Managerial/Supervisory (White Collar): Anthony Start

• Trades and Crafts – Structural (Non-Supervisory): Alexander Timmerman

• Trades and Crafts – Mechanical (Non-Supervisory): William Dale Blanger

• Trades and Crafts – Electrical (Non-Supervisory): Arnold Santiago

• Trades and Crafts – Service (Non-Supervisory): Juanita Cole

• Trades Supervisor (Foreman): James Herdman

• Managerial Supervisor Trades/Project (2nd Level or above): Jeff Raymond

• Engineering/Professional (Degreed or Equivalent): Patricia Masino

• Engineering/Technical: Ray Hall

• Outstanding Volunteer Services:

Evah Summers

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 28
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates