County sees numerous candidates file for office

By Richard Walker

PORT ORCHARD — Scott Henden says he’ll keep his North Kitsap School Board position if elected to the state House of Representatives, position 1, from the 23rd District.

Kelly Emerson resigned from the Island County Board of Commissioners on May 5 and registered as a voter in Kitsap County on May 6. She became a candidate for Kitsap County auditor on May 14.

James Olsen, whose run unsuccessfully for a Bainbridge sewer district board (once) and for state House (twice), is making a third bid for the state House, position 2, from the 23rd District.

Election season — the annual parade of ambitions and ideas — has begun.

The primary election is Aug. 5, the general election is Nov. 4. Unlike many past elections, voters have a lot of choices.

Of 28 offices that Kitsap County residents will vote on, all but nine have two or more candidates.

Barring challenges from a write-in candidate, Kitsap County Sheriff’s Department patrol chief Gary Simpson will be the next sheriff, succeeding Steve Boyer, who is retiring. And Meredith Green will continue as county treasurer. Six judges on the state and county level are unopposed. So is Jim Civilla, a Public Utility District commissioner.

Many political views will be represented in the 6th Congressional District race; candidates challenging Rep. Derek Kilmer, D-Gig Harbor, include a Republican, a Green, and a candidate citing No Party Preference.

Prosecuting Attorney Russ Hauge, Democrat, faced one candidate in 2010 and no opposition in 2006, 2002 and 1998, but he’ll have to compare ideas and issues with three other candidates — a Democrat, a Republican and an Independent.

Those are some of the highlights of the 2014 election.

Here’s a list of all the candidates on this year’s ballot (for contact information for all of the candidates, go to



Congressional District 6

U.S. Representative

— Derek Kilmer (Prefers Democratic Party)

— W. (Greybeard) McPherson (States No Party Preference)

— Marty McClendon (Prefers Republican Party)

— Douglas Milholland (Prefers Green Party)



Legislative District 23

State Representative Pos. 1 — Sherry V. Appleton (Prefers Democratic Party) — Scott Henden (Prefers Republican Party)

State Representative Pos. 2— James M. Olsen (Prefers GOP Party)

— Drew Hansen (Prefers Democratic Party)

Legislative District 26

State Senator

— Judy Arbogast (Prefers Democratic Party)

— Jan Angel (Prefers Republican Party)

State Representative Pos. 1

— Bill Scheidler (Prefers Republican Party)

— Jesse Young (Prefers Republican Party)

— Nathan Schlicher (Prefers Democratic Party)

State Representative Pos. 2

— Michelle Caldier (Prefers Republican Party)

— Larry Seaquist (Prefers Democratic Party)



Legislative District 35

State Senator

— Irene Bowling (Prefers Democratic Party)

— Travis Couture (Prefers Republican Party)

— Tim Sheldon (Prefers Democratic Party)



State Representative Pos. 1

— Kathy Haigh (Prefers Democratic Party)

— Dan Griffey (Prefers Republican Party)

— Josiah Rowell (Prefers Republican Party)



State Representative Pos. 2

— Drew C. MacEwen (Prefers Republican Party)

— Tammey Newton (Prefers Democratic Party)

Kitsap County

Commissioner District 3

— Edward E. Wolfe (Prefers Republican Party)

— Linda Streissguth (Prefers Democratic Party)


— Paul Andrews (Prefers Democratic Party)

— Phil Cook (Prefers Republican Party)

— Garry Sobeck (Prefers Democratic Party)

— W. Sean Smith (Prefers Republican Party)


— Dolores Gilmore (Prefers Democratic Party)

— Kelly Emerson (Prefers Republican Party)


— Gerald (Gary) Chaney (Prefers Republican Party)

— Dave Peterson (Prefers Democratic Party)


— Jeff Wallis (States No Party Preference)

— Greg Sandstrom (Prefers Republican Party)

Prosecuting Attorney

— Russ Hauge (Prefers Democratic Party)

— Bob Scales (Prefers Democratic Party)

— Tina Robinson (Prefers Republican Party)

— Bruce Danielson (Prefers Independent Party)




— Gary L. Simpson (Prefers Democratic Party)


— Meredith R. Green (Prefers Democratic Party)

Supreme Court

Justice Position 1

— Mary Yu

Justice Position 3

— Mary E. Fairhurst

Justice Position 4

— Eddie Yoon

— Charles W. Johnson

Justice Position 7 Statewide

— Debra L. Stephens

— John (Zamboni) Scannell



Court of Appeals, Division 2, District 2

Judge Position 1

— Lisa L. Sutton

Kitsap County Judicial

District Court Judge Department 1

— Claire Bradley

— Tracy Flood

District Court Judge Department 2

— Jeffrey J. Jahns

District Court Judge Department 3

— Marilyn G. Paja

District Court Judge Department 4

— Stephen J. Holman

Kitsap County Public Utility District No. 1

Commissioner District 2

— James (Jim) Civilla


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates