Silver bells ... it’s election time, in the city (and county)

The time has once again come to cull the heard of candidates wishing to become local government representatives throughout the county as the Aug. 18 primary creeps closer and currently sits a mere 25 days away.

Although resident ballots have not been mailed yet, overseas and military ballots went out July 17 and voter registration by mail and online closed July 20. Resident ballots will be available July 29 and will be mailed July 31.

Before the primary takes place, the first day applications for mail ballots for the Nov. 3 general election will be accepted is Aug. 5 and the last day of in-person registration for voters not currently registered in the state is Aug. 10.

In Bremerton, the position of mayor is on the ballot and being contested along with municipal court judge, port commissioner, water commissioner, two city council positions and three school board positions.

The five candidates for mayor of Bremerton are Daryl Daugs, Carlos Jara, Will Maupin, Mike Shepherd and Patty Lent. Former mayor, Cary Bozeman, took a job at the Port of Bremerton leaving the position vacant.

Running for the position of Bremerton Municipal Court judge are Ed Wolfe and incumbent James Docter.

The two Bremerton City Council positions on the ballot this year include District 1, which is currently held by Brad Gehring and is being contested by Jim McDonald and District 7, which is currently represented by Carol Arends, who will face Gentry Lange.

North Perry Water Commissioner, Position 2 is a battle between incumbent Gary O. Purbaugh and Jae Relling.

The Port of Bremerton Commissioner 1 slot will be filled by Gene Hart, Lynn Horton or Roger Zabinski.

The three positions on the ballot for Bremerton School District are Position 1, currently filled in interim by candidate for position 5, Carolynn Perkins, and being sought after by Cynthia Large, Christianne Martin, Scott Rahm and J. David Rubie; Position 4, which will be decided between David Boynton, incumbent Cynthia Galloway and Bruce Woolnough; and position 5, which includes Ruben Garcia Jr. and Ken Watkins in addition to Perkins.

Voter turnout for the 2008 primary election statewide was 37 percent less than the general election, according to data released on the Kitsap County government Web site,, but it was the largest percentage in the last five years.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates